Advisory Committee

An exceptional group of planners, academics and community engagement specialists has volunteered their time to provide additional oversight and guidance to the Assembly process. The Advisory Committee will work with the Assembly Chair, Rachel Magnusson, to ensure that the Assembly’s agenda is appropriate to the task and adequately balanced by ensuring that a wide range of perspectives is heard.

The Advisory Committee will also hold the Assembly accountable to its own Terms of Reference (pdf) and standards of good democratic practice. It will not interpret, examine or endorse the recommendations of the Assembly.

Advisory Committee members

Joyce Drohan is an accomplished architect and urban designer with extensive experience in the design of sustainable communities. Recently, she led the design of the winning master plan for the Blatchford Redevelopment, transforming Edmonton’s municipal airport into a model for sustainable city-building. It was honored with the 2014 Globe Award for Sustainable Urbanism and the 2014 National Urban Design Award by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada. She has also had lead roles in the design of Vancouver’s flagship sustainable communities – South East False Creek (ODP) and East Fraserlands (ODP and Rezonings). The latter was recognized in 2007 with awards from the Canadian Institute of Planners, Smart Growth British Columbia and the Canadian Urban Institute and in 2008 by the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects.

Joyce is especially interested in the potential of built form to shape meaningful places expressing the historic, cultural and social aspects of a community. This aspiration is underpinned by a deep commitment to sustainable design, especially related to livability and urban health. She has gained a reputation for effectively advancing this potential in her professional work and as a Board member of the Council for Canadian Urbanism.

Steven Eastman is co-chair of the City of Vancouver’s Urban Aboriginal People’s Advisory Committee. (A full biography will be posted shortly)

Shoni Field is a fundraiser by profession, and a passionate believer in citizen engagement and democratic reform by chance. She was randomly chosen to serve on the BC Citizens’ Assembly on Electoral Reform in 2004. Since then she’s been a spokesperson for both B.C. referendum campaigns, a Fair Voting BC director, president of Fair Vote Canada, and is a co-founder of Unlock Democracy and 123Vancouver.

Shoni is the Director of Fundraising Innovation at the BC SPCA and has eighteen years of experience in direct response fundraising. Also, coincidentally the length of time she’s lived in Grandview Woodlands. She jokes that if she moved she’d only ever want to go within a ten block radius, and is excited by the potential of the Citizens’ Assembly on the Grandview-Woodland Community Plan to allow residents to shape their beloved neighbourhood.

Ann McAfee has an Interdisciplinary Doctorate in Planning and Urban Land Economics from UBC. From 1974 to 2006, Ann worked for the City of Vancouver, the last 12 years as Co-Director of Planning. She was responsible for guiding the extensive public process leading to adoption of “CityPlan” – Vancouver’s first venture onto broad participatory democracy. Ann was responsible for area plans, industry and business improvement programs, and City input to regional planning. She co-managed, with Engineering and Finance, transportation, financing growth, and sustainability plans. All initiatives engaged the public in plan making.

Following retirement from the City of Vancouver, Ann established City Choices Consulting a firm specializing in strategic planning and public processes. Since “retiring” Ann has advised cities in North America, Australia, New Zealand, China, Philippines, Japan, Sweden, Ukraine, and Ethiopia on planning with people. She recently assisted Auckland develop their first Unitary Plan which included both face-to-face and web based engagement. Ann is an Adjunct Professor of Planning at UBC’s School of Community and Regional Planning where she teaches a course in strategic planning. Ann is a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Planners and, in 2007, was co-recipient of the Kevin Lynch award for distinguished planning practice.

Mark E. Warren holds the Harold and Dorrie Merilees Chair for the Study of Democracy at the University of British Columbia. He is especially interested in democratic innovations, civil society and democratic governance, and political corruption. Warren is author of Democracy and Association (Princeton University Press, 2001), which won the Elaine and David Spitz Book Prize awarded by the Conference for the Study of Political Thought, as well as the 2003 Outstanding Book Award from the Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action. He is editor of Democracy and Trust (Cambridge University Press 1999), and co-editor of Designing Deliberative Democracy: The British Columbia Citizens’ Assembly(Cambridge University Press 2008).

Mark is currently working with an international team on a project entitled Participedia, which uses a web-based platform to collect data about democratic innovation and participatory governance around the world. Participedia will enable data-driven comparative research into this rapidly developing area of governance, as well as serve as a resource for governments, democracy practitioners and advocates.

Mark L. Winston has had a distinguished career researching, teaching, writing and commenting on bees and agriculture, environmental issues, and science policy. More recently, he has utilized dialogue in classrooms, corporations, non-profit organizations, government and community settings to develop leadership and communication skills, conduct strategic planning, inspire organizational change, and thoughtfully engage public audiences with controversial issues.

Mark’s work has appeared in numerous books, commentary columns for the Vancouver Sun, The New York Times, The Sciences, Orionmagazine, and frequently on CBC radio and television and National Public Radio. His research, communication, and dialogue achievements have been recognized by many awards, including the Manning Award for Innovation, Sterling Prize in Support of Controversy, British Columbia Gold Medal in Science and Engineering, Academic of the Year, Eve Savory Award for Science Communication, Michael Smith Award for Science Promotion, a prestigious Killam Fellowship from the Canada Council, and election as a Fellow in the Royal Society of Canada. He currently is a Fellow in Simon Fraser University’s Centre for Dialogue, and a Professor of Biological Sciences.

Get the Final Report


(High Resolution)

The Grandview-Woodland Citizens’ Assembly put local residents at the centre of the community planning process. Forty-eight randomly selected local residents and business owners met eleven times over nine months to learn, listen and put forward their recommendations concerning the future of the Grandview-Woodland neighbourhood. Download their final report here.